George Towle
George Towle
Title: Women's Track and Field Head Coach
Phone: (207) 780-5595
Previous College: Maine '73

            Beginning his 29th season as the only head coach in the history of the University of Southern Maine women's treack & field and cross country program, George Towle brings a dedication and knowledge of the sport to the program that has made the USM women's program highly competitive within the Little East Conference and New England Region.

            In 15 seasons at the helm of the USM women's indoor and outdoor track and field teams, Towle has guided his teams to numerous championships. During the 2012-13 indoor season, USM captured its 13th consecutive New England Alliance and Little East Conference Championships.  The Huskies have also collected three Maine State Championships.

            The Huskies were equally as successful during the 2013 outdoor track and field season, winning their 14th straight Little East Conference Championship. The Huskies also performed well at the New England Division III Championships, posting a 12th-place result in the 27-team standings.

            In his 29 seasons as the head coach of the women's cross country team, Towle has guided USM to six Little East Conference Championships (1988, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1997 and 1999), two New England Alliance Championships (1997 and 1999) and eight top ten finishes at the NCAA Division III Regional Championship (1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1997, 1999, 2012).

           During his tenure as the Huskies head coach, Towle has produced two cross country All-Americans (Penny Osborne - 1999 - and Molly Carl - 2011), six NCAA national qualifiers, two ECAC champions and eight runners who have won a combined total of 11 LEC titles.

            In recognition of his success, Towle has been named the Little East Conference Coach of the Year for cross country in 2007, 2008, 2011, and 2012. He was the LEC Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year in 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012, and the LEC Outdoor Track & Field Coach of the Year in 2008, 2011 and 2012.