2019-20 NEHC Women's All-Academic Team Released

2019-20 NEHC Women's All-Academic Team Released

USM Shares Conference-High Honor with 14 Players on Team

            GORHAM, Maine -- Fourteen members of the University of Southern Maine women's ice hockey team were among the 98 student-athletes recognized by the New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) with a spot on the annual women's All-Academic Team released Thursday afternoon.

            Southern Maine, Norwich University and Salem State University all placed 14 players on the All-Academic team to lead the way.  All nine member institutions were represented on this year's team.

            To be eligible for the All-Academic honor, a player must have a minimum cumulative GPA (grade point average) of 3.00 and have completed at least one full year at their current institution.

            Representing USM on this year's team were seniors Mikayla Butkus (Essex Jct., Vt.; Nursing), Jill Hannigan (Portland, Maine; Accounting), Whitney Padgett (Eden Prairie, Minn.; Exercise Science), Amanda Piknick (Hyannis, Mass.; Liberal Studies) and Grace Simmons (Buffalo, N.Y.; Nursing).  Padgett, Piknick and Simmons received the honor for the third consecutive year.  Hannigan, who transfer to USM from Nichols College after her freshman year, earned her second recognition.  Butkus, in her second year with the program after transferring to USM from the University of Vermont, earned her first citation.

            Also receiving All-Academic honors were juniors Rylie Binette (Milan, N.H.; Health Sciences), Shannon Colbert (Manomet, Mass.; Finance), and Delaney O'Connor (Kankakee, Ill.; Mechanical Engineering).  All three were receiving the honor for the second straight year.

            Six sophomores – Brianna Doty (Lyndonville, Vt.; Nursing), Alexa Henriksen (Marshfield, Mass.; Nursing), Jenna House (Buffalo, N.Y.; Exercise Science), Emma Mazzariello (Rutland, Vt.; Social and Behavioral Science), Lindsay Pych (West Milford, N.J.; Environmental Planning and Policy) and Chelsea Skluzacek (Crosslake, Minn.; Psychology) – earned the accolade for the first time.

            The Huskies finished the 2019-20 season 12-13-2, including a 9-7-0 mark in NEHC regular-season play, and advanced to the semifinal round of the NEHC tournament.